NSTP chief executive officer Datuk Abdul Jalil Hamid with the NSTP group winners of the Malaysian Press Institute (MPI) - Petronas Malaysian Journalism Awards 2016. Pix by Muhd Zaaba Zakeria

KUALA LUMPUR: The New Straits Times (NST) bagged two awards at the Malaysian Press Institute (MPI) - Petronas Malaysian Journalism Awards 2016 tonight.

NST journalists Aliza Shah and Wan Muhammad Amin Mokhtar won the 'Excellent Reporting' category for their stories on 'A dark monstrous web', 'Hunting down paedophiles' and 'More bite in fighting child sex crimes'.

NST Special Probes Editor Farrah Naz Karim was named 'Best Columnist' for her pieces, "The tourists we can do without", "Plugging leaks in key enforcement agencies", and "Counting the costs of undocumented labour".

Farrah took home RM10,000 cash, a certificate and a trophy.

NST Crime, Court and Defence Editor Leslie Moreno Andres received a consolation prize for the same category.

NSTP photographer Mohamad Sairien Mohamad Nafis won the 'Excellent Photo Essay' category with his photo of the Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Mosque in Shah Alam, Selangor.

NSTP CEO Datuk Abdul Jalil Hamid said the achievements were reflective of the high standard of journalism within the company.

"NSTP continues to demonstrate the highest quality of journalism as reflected by an array of MPI awards tonight.

"We are committed to better serve our growing readership by producing more compelling and award-winning content. Congratulations to all winners from NSTP."

Meanwhile, NST's sister publication Berita Harian also won the Best Environmental Reporting Award. BH journalist Azrul Affandi Sobry won RM10,000 cash for his piece on the decline of KL's forest reserves.

Berita Harian journalist Alzahrin Alias won the Best International Reporting category for his report on the plight of Syrian and Palestinian refugees in Lebanon.

Harian Metro's Mohd Azam Shah Yaacob and Nor Salim Mohamed Dawam won the Best Infographic category with their piece on traditional Malay architecture.

The prestigious Kajai Award went to The Star's Samantha Chow, Clarissa Say, Maryam Zainol, Elroi Yee, Ian Yee and Lim May Lee for their report on child predators.

The same report also earned them the Best Investigative Report award.

354 reads

Related Articles

Most Read Stories by